Home Forums Main Forum Assigning FOMC SEP Dots

Tagged: 

• Author
    Keymaster
    #321 |

Lately, everyone is pooh-poohing the dots. But I still think it’s an important part of the rates discussion. In the next week or two, I will do a little more research on the latest September dots and post my new estimates. I also thought it would be good to have a thread where we could post relevant quotes from various FOMC speeches. But below is what I had been using after the June meeting for the 2016 dots. It’s very rough and I could easily have spent more time on it. I would be happy to discuss my reasoning if you disagree. That’s what the forum is all about!

My Dot Assingment for June 2014:
    4.25 Charles I. Plosser
    4.00 Richard W. Fisher
    3.75 Esther L. George
    3.50 Jeffrey M. Lacker
    3.00 Loretta Mester
    3.00 James Bullard
    2.75 Jerome H. Powell
    2.50 Daniel K. Tarullo
    2.50 Dennis P. Lockhart
    Lael Brainard
    2.25 John C. Williams
    2.25 Eric Rosengren
    2.00 Janet L. Yellen, Chair
    2.00 William C. Dudley
    1.25 Charles L. Evans
    1.00 Stanley Fischer, Vice Chairman
    0.50 Narayana Kocherlakota

• This topic was modified 4 years, 2 months ago by  Curve Advisor.
  • Curve Advisor
    Keymaster

Evans’ speech Wednesday could be interesting. He volunteered that he was the 1.25 2016 dot in March. Any time you can identify a “dovish” dot, that makes placing the FOMC leadership dots a little easier. FWIW, Goldman seems to think the FOMC leadership are the dovish dots 3-6. This is not too different from my claim that the FOMC leadership is in the “dovish half.”

• Curve Advisor
    Keymaster

This isn’t a bad summary of the previous week’s FOMC statements. http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/09/24/usa-fed-idUSL1N0RJ2QY20140924 No real surprises, but Bullard saying, “A more natural juncture [to remove “considerable time”] would probably be the October meeting,” pretty much lines with with my thoughts.